Once you extend a virtual server, you may never extend it again? (!!!)

Tuesday, September 28, 2004 9:16 AM
Microsoft MVP Logo

Just found a known behavior with WSS/SharePoint… confirmed by MS Product Support Services. If you extend a virtual server, you can not re-extend another virtual server with the same name in the future. This is because the config database records that were created aren't removed when you unextend/delete a site.

They say it's a known behavior… um… I call that a bug. Also, the recommended fix (cleanup config database) is to unextend all virtual servers, create a new config DB, and extend your virtual servers again using the new config DB. Interesting to know… sure would like the rationale behind that one.

comments powered by Disqus